Banana Tart

My Family sat down today to a lovely traditional pork roast dinner, which was lovely. So I decided to make a dessert for everyone. I was a bit dubious at the start as for starters when it comes to pastry making I feel a little devil is sitting on my shoulder watching me screw up, and secondly cooked bananas have never been my taste, ever since eating a tin foil wrapped hot banana with chocolate sauce on a very cold and wet camping trip with the Cub Scouts when I was a child. However, a new challenge is always good, and I will never perfect my pastry making skills unless I keep practising, and the result was not bad at all, but quite delicious!

What you Need:

Filling: 7 bananas, 100g of butter, 1/2 cup of water, 1tsp of mixed spice ( cinnamon, coriander and cloves), 2tsp vanilla extract, 1tablespoon of caster sugar. Syrup : 4 tsp butter (melted) 1/2 tsp of mixed spice

(For the pastry I followed a simple short-crust pastry recipe, which I let rest in the refrigerator for one hour and the rolled out and baked blind)

Preheat the oven to 180c

Simply, slice four bananas and add to a saucepan with the water, butter, vanilla, spices and sugar. On a low heat gently heat and watch the the butter melt and the bananas soften, until it forms a nice thick sauce. Set aside to cool. Then pour into the awaiting pastry case and even out with a spatula. With remaining bananas chop and arange on the top of the mixture. Place in the oven for 10mins.

Whilist in the oven prepare a light syrup with melted butter and mixed spice. Once the pie is heated take it out and pour over the syrup and spinkle the top of the tart with sugar. Pop the tart under a hot gril for 2-3mins, or until golden brown.

Serve hot with a dollop of fresh cream. (^-^)

SDC11306-pola

9 Comments

Filed under pastry

9 responses to “Banana Tart

  1. thecookieshop

    Your tart looks and sounds delicious! Good job!

  2. The second I saw bananas AND butter, I was in! It looks and sounds wonderful. Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

  3. teaandscones

    Interesting concept. Just bananas in the tart. Will have to try this one.

    Thanks for coming by.

  4. oh i love anything with banana this looks great!

    by the way – love the polaroids! i’m a collector of the lil buggers i absolutely adore them 🙂

  5. What an interesting tart. Sounds like it could be delicious! I agree; bananas and butter are a lovely combination. Thanks for sharing it.

  6. livelovelearnbake

    Lovely tart and lovely blog! have you ever thought about adding rum to this tart at all? When I saw it all I could think about was bananas foster! yum!

  7. Yummm Banana Tart with spice. have to give this a try . thanks 🙂

  8. elinasingh

    That sounds really interesting! I’m going to have to try it out some time… 🙂

Leave a Reply

