Lemon Meringue Cake: Cook of the Month

SDC11280-pola

I have decided once every month to review one recipe from one cook and one cookbook. For me the most important thing about anotehr persons recipe is if it actually does work the way its wrote down. Hopefully by picking  a recipe from a certain cookbook or cook, I can improve my own skills, inform others and review recipes and books for future reference.

This month I have decided upon Nigella Lawson’s Meringue Cake from her book Feast. This book really is an essential for any person in kitchen, so much detail and helpful hints, for all season, celebrations and dinners. So I do have high hopes and expectations for this recipe.

SDC11281-pola

I am really happy how this came out, it looks just like the picture in the book. I did have some difficulty getting the sponge mix into the cake tin as it was very thick. I think for a dinner party of luncheon his cake would impress.

SDC11283-pola01You can find the recipe for this cake on Nigella’s website or in her excellent book Feast. If anyone has any suggestions of what I should do for next month please let me know (^-^)

11 Comments

Filed under Cook of the Month

11 responses to “Lemon Meringue Cake: Cook of the Month

  1. I’ve been pretty happy with Nigella’s recipes, the ones I’ve tried of course. Looks lovely!

  2. Absolutely love Nigella’s recipe’s – her food is all soul! And what I find great is that you can play with her recipes…nothing is set in stone so to speak which makes it that much more exciting! Awesome blog 🙂 Keep it going

  3. Salt

    YUM. I DEFINITELY have to try this one out!

  4. Wendy

    Lemon meringue cake sounds wonderful.

  5. jami

    Lemon meringue is a nice idea for cake. For next month I suggest that you consider the Macrina Bakery Cookbook. It’s one of my favorites.

  6. S.

    Hi Michael,

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Your food blog looks awesome.
    I’m tempted to try making Lemon Meringue Cake now!

    I’ll be coming back for more recipes! 🙂

    Oh! And I think you should really go try eating an Oreo soon! 🙂

  7. This cake looks great, and I love the polaroids!!

  8. Belle

    Mmmm looks so good!

  9. I just love lemon meringue cake!

  10. I made a similar lemon meringue cake a few years bake from Southern Living magazine. It was great and I’m sure yours was too!

  11. thesockgarden

    Corrr! That looks delish – so typically Nigella – gooey and indulgent. I’m off to look around your blog a bit more. x

Leave a Reply

