Chocolate Orange Cupcakes

SDC11191-pola

In the spirit of Halloween I decided to make some spooky  treats. I started off making a batch of 24 which then turned into a batch of 40.. this is what you get from experimental recipes!

Last Halloween was spent in South Koreas dressed as a pumpkin dancing around, so this year makes a nice change with these simple and sophisticated cupcakes. (This makes 40! lol)

What you need:

4 large eggs, cracked open, 2 tsp vanilla essence, 125g caster sugar, 125g dark brown sugar, 350g melted Butter, 250g self-raising flour, 1tsp Baking Powder, Zest of Orange, 125g melted Milk Chocolate

Frosting:

600g Icing Sugar, 200g of soft butter, 200g melted white chocolate, 2 tsp Orange Essence, 2tsp Orange Colouring

Preheat the oven to 180C

SDC11182

First have two bowls, one with the dry ingredients (sugar, flour, baking powder) and one with the liquids (eggs, melted chocolate, melted butter. beat the liquid bowl until thick then add to the middle of the dry bowl and beat as hard as you can (or if you are lucky use an electric mixer ). Then once its combined well spoon into cases, 1/2 full, and bake for 18mins, leave to cool on a rack.

SDC11188

The frosting tastes great, simply mix everything together and pipe on top… yum!

This was actually my first time icing using a piper, and I am pretty happy with the result !

SDC11190

14 Comments

Filed under Cupcakes & Muffins

14 responses to “Chocolate Orange Cupcakes

  1. ibelieveinkissing

    ohh ive made these before … my own recipe of course! you should check out my blog … http://ibelieveinkissing.wordpress.com!

    Thanks

  2. Choco Kat

    HI Michael!

    Your cupcakes look delish! I like the fact that you used real chocolate to make the little darlins’ instead of cocoa powder like many of the other recipes…

    That reminds ofa pie I made for Thanksgiving when I substituted real banana for candy marshmallows, creativity rocks!!

  3. tiffdjones

    Hi Michael,

    YUMMO!!

    Thanks for directing me to your yummy blog 🙂

  4. akbirdie

    wow those look delicious!

  5. Those cupcakes look really tempting! Thanks for suggesting you blog, it’s great!!

  6. deliciouslygood

    i agree! love the use of actual chocolate in the cupcakes. very homey and comforting.

  7. ladyducayne

    Great photos and lovely cupcakes!!

  8. I am enjoying your blog. I love the idea of recipes from England being exchanged with mine

  9. I love baking with brown sugar – I can’t wait to try these out!

    Thanks for sharing…

    ~ Diana ~

    http://www.DianasNeighborhood.com

  10. Orange chocolate cupcakes are the best! I’ve done several variations of this and it’s always a hit. I love your blog’s look. Thanks for dropping a line in mine 🙂

  11. Looks great. I’m going to try this dark chocolate, it’s my favorite!

  12. foodempress

    These cupcakes love fantastic, I will have to try these….soon!
    http://foodempress.wordpress.com/

  13. I love orange and chocolate. 🙂

Leave a Reply

