Traditional Gingerbread

SDC11124

What a rainy day it is in Cambridge today, so a perfect time to bake some nice thick gingerbread. The smell is amazing. This gingerbread is a traditional recipe which uses Black Treacle, so it’s not for the faint hearted, but don’t despiar if you want a lighter taste use golden syrup instead.

SDC11104-pola

What you need:

680g Plain Flour
450g Black Treacle
50ml Evaporated Milk (warm)
75g Butter
110g Brown Sugar
3 tbsp Ground Ginger
1 tbsp Cinnamon (You could use Allspice instead, but I am not a fan)
2 Eggs
3/4 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda

Preheat the oven at 160C.

Put sieve the flour into a basin, with the sugar, ginger and cinnamon, mix together. Then warm the butter and add it to the centre of the mixture followed by the treacle. Beat this dark sticky mixture together, trapping air. Now add the warm evaporated milk, with the the bicarbonate of soda dissolved In and vigourously beat into a smooth cake batter with the whisked eggs. Pour the mixture into a cake tin. Then bake for 1h20mins or until risen and crusty brown on top. When you take out of the oven leave in the tin for 15mins and then transfer to cooling tray.

SDC11112-pola

Yummy you can then slice and eat with a little butter or custard with a nice cup of tea!

SDC11127-pola

14 Comments

Filed under cakes

14 responses to “Traditional Gingerbread

  1. Michael, that looks wonderful! I love gingerbread, especially with lemon sauce. Gingerbread cookies, too. Yum!

  2. nityanavina

    Good luck with your cooking adventures michael. I liked the pumpkin pie post. Thanks for stopping by my blogg. Also check out http://www.iskcon.net.au/kurma/ for some wonderful karma free recipes!

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog. I see you’re a fairly new blogger and into baking too, maybe we can exchange some tips in the future.
    And I like that vintage mixer!

  4. Danielle

    Thanks for your comment on my blog – your gingerbread looks perfect for the season! What camera do you use for your pictures? Pretty cool ‘vintage’ effects…

  5. Katie

    Thanks for stopping by and checking out my blog. I am salivating over some of these recipes here. And I am definitely going to try this one 🙂

  6. Like everyone else–thanks for checking out my blog and this gingerbread looks delicious! I’ll have to try it out-thanks for the recipe!

  7. that looks seriously delicious! (I got to your site through eatavegan’s. she’s a good friend.)

  8. Thanks for stopping by and checking out my blog. This recipe looks great, I have never made gingerbread before, so will put that on the to-do list!
    Cheers

  9. Foxy Renard

    What is black treacle? This looks like it’s to die for – I love homemade gingerbread!

  10. I can’t wait to try out this recipe. It looks fantastic, Ginger anything being one of my favorite things in the world.

    I’ll be sure to send you a photo of it when I get around to baking it. (hopefully, sooner rather than later)

  11. Lauri

    Michael, I love you blog! You inspire me! I can’t wait to get in the kitchen and try some of your recipes!

  12. Very nice article. I thought to let you know that you website wasn’tt getting displayed proeprly on msie-mobile browser on my pda.

    Have a good time…sorry for typing mistake

Leave a Reply

