Simplicity: Vanilla Cupcakes and Chocolate Frosting

SDC11082-pola

A nice simple recipe to try out my new cupcake tin! Actually I have never made cupcakes but I was inspired to by other peoples blogs and the marvellous cupcakes of Peyton & Byrne bakery in London.

What you need:

125g Butter, 125g Golden Caster Sugar, tsp of Vanilla Essence, 125g Self Raising Flour, 2 Eggs, 100ml Evaporated Milk.

SDC11080

Preheat the oven at 180C. Simple blend all ingredients together or like me do the French way by firstly whisking the eggs adding the warm butter and vanilla in and whisking until froth is visible, then add to the rest of ingredients and blend together. Put in the oven for around 15-20mins. Cool and top with chocolate frosting and a dash of cocoa powder.

SDC11084

14 Comments

Filed under Cupcakes & Muffins

14 responses to “Simplicity: Vanilla Cupcakes and Chocolate Frosting

  1. Michael,

    Thank you for your comments on my apple cake. Your blog is beautiful and filled with tasty recipes that I am going to have to try. Nice to have found your blog.

    Raymond

  2. Looking good for first attempt, u must be a natural! You’ve just reminded me about peyton and byrne, love that shop, fantastic cakes, I’m back in London in nov so will def pay them a visit. U should try the hummingbird bakery too. 8)

  3. We just made cupcakes here, too. Yours sound tasty! Sometimes I forget how much I love these little cakes.

  4. Your cupcakes sound delicious! Thanks for sharing đŸ™‚

  5. jbgasper

    I love that first picture of the cupcakes, with the green tint. Very cool.

  6. Hey! Thanks for commenting on my blog. These look great! I am going to have to try them! Maybe I won’t mess them up like I did my cupcakes. Oops!

  7. these look delicious Michael! (: never used evaporated milk in cupcakes before. shall bookmark this! thanks!

  8. onlypretending

    These look good. I’ve never baked with evaporated milk for cupcakes either. I just made pumpkin cupcakes last night. Must be the time for cupcakes!

  9. Bianco Jade

    I simply love cupcakes (and your blog) but I haven’t been able to make any lately cause I ran out of the little cups. But now I’ve got to go get some looking at these recipe; those and some caster sugar.

    *goes and make a shopping list*

  10. This looks simple and tasty. Gotta try it! đŸ™‚

  11. Yes Your cupcakes sound delicious! Thanks for sharing.. AMY

Leave a comment