Roast Pumpkin Chutney

SDC11065-pola01

I had some left over roasted pumpkin from the soup so I decided to bubble it up and create a yummy pickle. This recipe is nice and simple. This batch makes around 5 medium jars. Also don’t forget to recycle and use old jars which you can sterilise in the oven.

What You Need:

3 Bramley Apples, 1 Large Red Onion, Cube of Fresh Ginger, 1/2 Roasted Pumpkin, 550ml of Malt Vinegar, 150ml of Water, 400g of Dark Brown Sugar, 1tbs Salt, 1tsp Canyanne Pepper, Squeeze of Lemon Juice, 1tsp English Mustard and pepper to season.

First chop onion, apples to the size you like, add to a large saucepan with everything else (except Pumpkin, Sugar and Salt). Boil up the mixture and simmer for 30mins.

SDC11033-pola

After 30mins stir in the sugar and salt until dissolved and simmer again for another hour, every so often stir the mixture. When the chutney is to the consistency you like (maybe simmer for 5 hours to reduce excess liquid) add the chopped roasted pumpkin and mix together, leave to cool then pot into warm jars and seal.

I recommend you leave it to mature for a month and then eat with cheese.. yum!

11 Comments

Filed under Jams & Preserves

11 responses to “Roast Pumpkin Chutney

  1. The Roast Pumpkin Chutney sounds very good! Is a bramble apple a small tart apple? I’m wondering if they’re anything like a crab apple. My google-fu brought up blackberries, but your chutney doesn’t look blackberry-ish.

    P.S. – Thanks for the comment over on my blog post, and for the invite to yours!

  2. I’ve never seena pumpkin chutney before so thankyou so much for this recipe! It looks delicious 😀

  3. Bonnie

    We grew some wonderful pumpkins in our garden this year. What a great idea.

    Thank you for stopping by Savoring Simplicity.

  4. wow. never heard of pumpkin chutney but this looks really awesome! thanks for stopping by my food blog! (:

  5. distractedgourmet

    That’s a really good idea! Looks lovely. I love chutney!

  6. delightfullysweet

    Roast Pumpkin Chutney and cheese! I am there. Anytime someone says cheese I want to make it!

  7. I’ve given your blog an award, please check by my blog to collect it!

  8. goddessofcake

    Well done, nice blog, keep up the good work Michael!

  9. ektibar

    oh my i’ve got to try this
    it looks delicious!

    P.S. thanks for putting the first comment on my blog (self-esteem boost)

    You’re blog looks great and I hope to make one of your recipe in the future.

Leave a Reply

