Sunday Classic: Yorkshire Pudding

SDC11024

Today is Sunday and the best thing about this day is Sunday dinner, yummy slow cooked beef joints, sage stuffing, assorted roasted vegetables, thick gravy, plump suet dumplings and my all time favourite Yorkshire Puddings.

Today I want to share with you my recipe to making, what I think, the perfect Sunday treat. I remember my great grandma making these for us and how she liberally seasoned with black pepper.

For this recipe I don’t work in measurements just by eye but I will give you some idea of the weights as I go. Ok firstly take 3 eggs and crack into a mixing bowl, whisking the eggs lightly together to form an orange mixture, (I found in many recipes they recommend using 2 eggs, however I find if you want a dramatic, crispy risen pud use 3).

SDC11032

Now with the egg mixture add a drop of milk (50ml), a pinch of salt and a liberal grind of black pepper. Then sieve in around 100g of Plain Flour and whisk quickly, trapping air and forming a light froth on the top. Now keep adding flour and water in parts and whisking until you get a nice slightly thick and heavy batter mixture. You want it the same consistency of a Shrove Tuesday Pancake, or slightly thicker.

Now set the mixture aside in room temperature for around 2 hours. I find this helps the rising process and the secret to a good Yorkshire is how big they rise.

SDC11021

When ready to bake, preheat the over to the highest temperature (around 300C) and in a Yorkshire Tin (If you don’t have one don’t worry use a cake sandwich tin instead) add enough oil to fill the bottom, around 0.5cm and heat until the oil is very hot and smoking (2-5mins) take out and spoon the Yorkshire batter in evenly and return to the oven for the next 10-15mins, or until nice and high, golden brown and crispy.

SDC11025

There you have it the perfect Yorkshire Pudding, and if you have any left over eat for dessert cold with a spoon of jam in the centre.

SDC11028

15 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

15 responses to “Sunday Classic: Yorkshire Pudding

  1. onlypretending

    This all looks so good. Thanks for showing me this site. Now I hungry.

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog. Would love to try this recipe soon.

  3. I’ve always used roast beef drippings when making Yorkshire Pudding. It is so flavorful and it’s been a long while since I’ve made it. Without the drippings, we call them Popovers because they literally pop open. Never served them with a dollop of a sweetened preserve but that sounds delicious.

  4. chrissi28

    Hey thanks for visiting my site and leaving your link. Your recipes look really good. I will have to try them sometime.

  5. Michael,

    Thank you for sharing this wonderful Yorkshire Pudding from your family. I am going to make it, especially since we are having unusal autumnal weather in Los Angeles. A very nice change and one that calls out for soul-satisfying recipes such as this.

    Denise

  6. Hi Michael,

    Thanks for visiting my site. I’m impressed with your delicious looking things and I will be back. I’m new to this game and my blog is only a few days old. How did you find mine? Happy cooking.

    Pam

  7. distractedgourmet

    Lovely recipe! I always want to try Yorkshire puddings as a real pudding, but it never lasts that long – too good with beef!

  8. Geez… you’re kill’n me with this. I never did get my Grandmother’s recipe and wish I had. Maybe I’ll try this one and see if it fires the memories.

  9. I love yorkshire pudding so much! I have many fond memories of sunday dinners and all I would want to eat was the yorkshire pudding with gravy on it.
    and thanks for visiting my blog (:

  10. What a beautiful dinner. Your Yorkshire pudding looks so delicious. Don’t you just love old family recipes? (Very nice blog you have! I am sure to visit again.)

    : ) Jane

  11. od

    Oh I’ve tried making yorkshire pudding but mine turned out very oily and greasy. Not sure if it was due to the amount of oil that I used or if the oil is spoiled hmm..

    • yes maybe too much oil, you want enough to fill the bottom and a bit extra (^-^)

      • od

        Oh well.. it seemed so easy watching Jamie Oliver and Nigella making these puddings on the telly. I don’t have Yorkshire tin so I used a medium sized tin mold instead. It was so greasy that some of the oil was still in the hollow part of the pudding when it was done. And mine didn’t expand much like yours, probably my oven wasn’t too hot when I put in the batter.

  12. yes the oven has to be the hottest temp and the oil should only be seen around the sides of the batter, not coming over it (^-^) good luck! let me know if it works.

  13. Wow – these look great. I’ve never tried to make Yorkshire Pudding before but I’m going to give your recipe a try the next time we do Roast Beef.

    Thanks for your comment on my blog and a pointer to yours! I’ve added yours to the blogs I follow.

    Best …

Leave a Reply

