Retro Cookware

Is it just me or does anyone else get excited about retro cookware/kitchenware. Yes I am am the ebayer who wants anything vintage, retro or old-world when it comes to most things. Most people probably discard these items as ugly but for me it’s uglier the better! Here is a few of my favourite items I want to have!

A vintage mixer, I really really want one of these!

Retro cake tins rule, especially when you like to make lots of cakes and you have nowhere to store them.

And a nifty way to weight

Enjoy!

Also if you have any recipes to recommend tell me!

17 Comments

Filed under Products

17 responses to “Retro Cookware

  1. Hi Michael!

    I love retro cake tins too. I could probably dig up a few old tins around here. I’ll let you know if I do.

    I’ll post my pumpkin pie recipe in the morning, and maybe I’ll try your recipe soon too! I’ve been wanting pumpkin everyday now.

  2. I’m another retro kitchenware lover. Pyrex bake ware; 60s and 70s Corning, milk glass and Denby dinner ware; a circa 1979 flatware; garage sale spatulas; estate sale can openers; eBay this and craigslist that; antique butter curlers… yeah, I have a wee problem.

  3. Ariel

    lol, I’m not particularly into vintage kitchenware, however I am strongly opposed to most new kitchenware technology. I’ll hand-knead dough for hours before putting it in a mixer and I’m not above having the children jump on a bag of nuts to chop them over using a food processor (its more fun that way anyway =D)

  4. I’ve get a kick out of Vintage items and really love using what I have been given by my family. Always on the look-out for the old Pyrex because I am dead-set against using plastics. That mixer is wonderful!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment so I could find you!

  5. That cake tin is pretty cool. I’ve never seen one of those before!

  6. I’m not exactly a huge retro bakeware fan, more of a retro music fan though. But I have to say that retro weighing scale looks really cool and I love the colour!

    Thanx for dropping by my blog! πŸ˜€

  7. oneordinaryday

    The mixer is awesome, but I love that scale!!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  8. Oh i love anything Retro! I am currently going through my Nanas stuff and collecting old cookbooks among other lovely things … i will be starting a blog at some point with all of her stuff.

  9. Hi, Michael

    You asked for recipes and it made me think of a recent interview I did with the local paper about cake balls. They are a fairly new idea here. If you haven’t heard of them, you can go here and see the article in the newspaper that includes the recipe.
    http://addhumorandfaith.wordpress.com/2009/10/14/a-laugh-for-today/

    One thing the article doesn’t mention is that I add a little vegetable oil to the candy coating to keep it from cracking when it dries.

    I’m glad you enjoyed my Toad in a Hole post. It was fun to do!

    Regards, Sandra

  10. I just found your blog and I really like it! Keep up the good work. And, you’re not the only one that enjoys vintage cookwear. The pictures are great.

  11. Katie

    I volunteer in a charity shop one day a week and I very rarely walk out of there without buying some vintage or retro treasure. Who knew volunteering could be so expensive?
    I do love retro, but as far as mixers go, I am currently putting a few pennies aside for a Kitchenaid or Kenwood mixer for my Christmas pressie for myself.
    Kate

  12. Hey Michael, thanks for your sweet comment on my blog. You are absolutely not the only one who gets excited about retro kitchen stuff – I adore vintage anything, but especially kitchen items.

    Love love love that mixer!

  13. I adore all things retro, from cookware to clothing. Unfortunately, I have very little of either, but I’m hoping the rectify that very shortly. Hopefully Santa will bring me a few items as I’ve been a very good girl this year! πŸ˜‰

  14. Salt

    I just LOVE that mixer! My grandmother had one just like it a long time ago. πŸ™‚

  15. Pingback: Our new home: Retro Cookware « Ofrenda

Leave a Reply

