Apple Cake

I wanted to make a nice simple afternoon cake, so i decided to go for a fresh and light tasting apple cake, using Greek yoghurt to add to the lightness of the sponge, a perfect accompaniment for Mothering Sunday.

What  You Need:

3 Large Granny Smith Apples peeled and chopped into cubes, 25ml  Apricot Brandy, 300g Greek yoghurt (I used Total), 4 eggs, 1 and a quarter teasp of baking powder, 225g caster sugar, 400g plain flour, 125ml olive oil.

Preheat the oven to 180c.

First add the eggs and sugar to a bowl and whisk until combined, then add in the yoghurt, brandy and oil until you have a lovely runny batter. To the mixture then add the sieved flour and baking powder, mixing to form a thick luscious cake mixture. Finally fold in the the chopped apple, place in a greased 9” cake tin and bake in the oven for 50 minutes. When done leave to cool, i drizzled over some left over cream cheese frosting.

Yum.

14 Comments

Filed under cakes

14 responses to “Apple Cake

  1. Looks good, love the inclusion of the apricot brandy! How did you make the icing?

    • thanks, the icing is just simple cream cheese frosting:
      125g cream cheese (make sure its really cold) 250g icing sugar and 90g butter. cream it all together and refrigerate before you use (^-^)

  2. I’m going to suppose this has quite a few calories in it. Otherwise, it looks fantastic!

    • lol less then you might think because there is no butter (olive oil instead) and the yoghurt is 0% fat. But if you are going to eat cake who cares about calories (^-^)

  3. Rosie of BooksAndBakes

    That looks gorgeous! I just love apple cake… I was just thinking today about my favourite cakes I’ve made over the past 8 months, and a certain Apple-And-Marzipan Cake is definitely up there in the top 5.

    By the way, yoghurt is often used as a replacement for oil/butter altogether, if you’re that worried about it ForsythKid!

  4. OK, this is one of the most beautiful apple cakes I’ve ever seen. I found your blog through Monica’s (The Sour Plum), and boy am I glad I did. I need to bookmark a few of your tantalizing recipes. Great photos too!!

  5. Yum is right. I wish I weren’t gluten intolerant. I used to love stuff like this.

    How are the apples in England right now? Do they still taste good?

    All the best, Zhian

  6. steph & jess

    this looks awesome, and i’m a sucker for blueberries. i will have to save this for blueberry season!

  7. Nice post! looks good ,i like it ,andso interesting…Thank you for sharing it.

  8. That’s gorgeous! Apple cake is one of my favorite desserts.

    I’m in Seattle, and Washington State has the best apples in the U.S. Looking forward to cooking up a fabulous apple cake.

    Thx for sharing!

    m

  9. I like the icing. This my family’s treasured apple cake recipe from my grandma:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/20/grandmas-slab-apple-cake/

  10. Diane

    Looks scrumptious! But What are the measurements in American cooking?

  11. sounds delicious and simple …I will try for Xmas

Leave a Reply

