Pumpkin Pie (Gretchen Inspired)

SDC10960

While I was living in South Korea I made many American friends who were living there. One of them was Gretchen, I remember around American Thanksgiving time she told me how amazing Pumpkin Pie was and it was a shame she could not make any because people in Korea rarely have ovens. So Gretchen and I hopped on a train for two hours in search for the mythic pie, but atlas we never found. So now I am back in England and that time of year has come around again so I have decided in honour of my friend to have a go at making Pumpkin Pie…. here goes lol

SDC10964

First I decided to use a real pumpkin and not the canned kind. Unfortunately I could only get the Halloween kind, which is o.k just make sure you get as much water out of the pumpkin as possible (I will explain later). First I chopped the pumpkin in half and took out all the seeds and stringy bits. Then chop up into smaller slices and steam, it probably will take around 10-20 mins but you know when it is done because the pumpkin with be bright orange and the skin will just slid off the flesh.. yum! Now when that was all nice and soft, to take out all the water I took the flesh and put it in a cloth and made a bundle and squeezed all the excess water out. Finally put in a blender and blitz until smooth, then refrigerator-ate.

SDC10963

Now I prepared the pie base, a nice simple recipe of short-crust pastry which I then baked blind  in the oven for 20 min and left to cool.

Once the pumpkin mixture was cool I transferred it to a sieve over a pan and left for 1 hour to just to eliminate anymore pesky water, because you don’t want a soggy bottom for your pie!

The filling:

5 eggs, 1tsp ground ginger, 1tsp Ground Allspice, 1.5tsp Cinnamon Power, 3 drops of Vanilla Essences, 300ml of Evaporated milk, 1 cup of golden caster sugar and 3 cups of Pumpkin.

Mix these all up well and pour into you prepared pastry case and pop in a preheated oven at 210C for 15mins and then 175C for 40-60mins.

Cool and then eat ! Yum! Thanks Gretchen for inspiring me to make an unusual dish for an English Guy.

SDC10961

4 Comments

Filed under pastry

4 responses to “Pumpkin Pie (Gretchen Inspired)

  1. Nothing is better this time of year than homemade pumpkin pie

  2. Ariel

    Great tip on how to deal with the watery pumpkin flesh, I’ve been talking about making pumpkin pie to celebrate an American-style Thanksgiving in November with my host family but they don’t have canned pumpkin here, which is what I’m used to working with. Now I know what to do =D Also, the recipe for the filling sounds delicious.

  3. I know that making the pie filling from scratch seems like the right move but if you can find pureed pumpkin in the can you really need to try it. This is the flavor and texture that is generally found in North American Pumpkin Pie.

    Check out my recipe for Classic Pumpkin Pie here: http://chowtown.wordpress.com/2009/10/14/classic-pumkin-pie-recipe/

  4. I’m another Brit who loves pumpkin pie, but so far I’ve only ever made it using canned pumpkin as I knew the pumpkins we get over here (why do we only get them at halloween???) would be too watery. I’m inspired to give this another go – just as soon as I can get hold of another pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

